ADKV-ART COLOGNE Award for Kunstvereine 2019: 18 Kunstvereine nominated

Berlin/Cologne, February 21th, 2019. The Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Kunstvereine (ADKV) and the ART COLOGNE announces the nominations for this year's Award for Kunstvereine. Since 2006 this prize has been awarded in cooperation with ART COLOGNE to recognize Kunstvereine for their innovative exhibition praxis and outstanding work in art education.
The nominations are:
1. KUNSTrePUBLIK, Berlin
2. nGbK Neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst, Berlin
3. Bonner Kunstverein
4. Kunstverein Braunschweig
5. Dortmunder Kunstverein
6. riesa efau, Dresden
7. Kunstverein Freiburg
8. Grazer Kunstverein (Österreich)
9. Kunstverein St. Pauli, Hamburg
10. Künstlerhaus Lauenburg
11. KV - Verein für zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig
12. Halle für Kunst, Lüneburg
13. Mannheimer Kunstverein
14. Kunstverein Springhornhof, Neuenkirchen
15. Kunstverein Neuhausen/Fildern
16. Brandenburgischer Kunstverein, Potsdam
17. Künstlerhaus Stuttgart
18. Nassauischer Kunstverein Wiesbaden

The Brandenburgischer Kunstverein in Potsdam and the Nassauische Kunstverein Wiesbaden couldn't be considered for the prize because of the director's role as one of the ADKV board of directors.
Representatives of the contemporary art scene chose the abovementioned Kunstvereine from the threehundred ADKV members for this year's "ADKV-ArtCologne Award for Kunstvereine". In order to insure that all ADKV Kunstvereine have an equal chance to be nominated there is a nominator from each respective state.
The criteria for selecting the nominations included, for instance, the promotion of experimental artistic approaches, the development of new presentation and educational forms, experimentation with new forms of communication about art, artistic education through tours, discussions, accompanying programming and publications, building interdisciplinary networks or regional cultural policy. From these nominations a jury will select a winner in March. The prize will be awarded on Saturday, April 13st, 2019 at 3 pm at Art Cologne.
The 8,000 Euro award has been provided by ART COLOGNE. With this award the oldest art fair in the world recognizes Kunstvereins' passionate advocacy for contemporary art.
The Kunstverein is a German institution that for over 200 years has been made possible through the commitment of citizens. The Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Kunstvereine was founded in 1980 in order to bring together what is today about 300 Kunstvereine. ADKV is the umbrella organization for non-profit, member-based art associations, also known as Kunstvereine, and is dedicated to the presentation and promotion of contemporary art.
Previous prize winners of the ADKV - ART COLOGNE Prize for Kunstvereine:
Temporary Gallery, Köln (2018), Hartware MedienKunstVerein, Dortmund (2017), Kunstverein Arnsberg und Kunstverein Harburger Bahnhof, Hamburg (2016); Kunstverein für die Rheinlande und Westfalen, Düsseldorf (2015); Bielefelder Kunstverein (2014); Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) (2013), Badischer Kunstverein, Karlsruhe (2012); Kunstverein Nürnberg - Albrecht Dürer Gesellschaft (2011); Kölnischer Kunstverein (2010); Heidelberger Kunstverein (2009); Salzburger Kunstverein und Westfälischer Kunstverein, Münster (2008); Kunstverein Wolfsburg (2007); ACC Galerie Weimar (2006).
The Art Frankfurt Prize for Kunstvereine (previous prize) was awarded to the following Kunstvereine:
2005 - Kölnischer Kunstverein; 2004 - Fri-Art Centre d'Art Contemporain, Fribourg (Schweiz); 2003 - Kunstverein Wilhelmshöhe, Ettlingen; 2002 - Frankfurter Kunstverein; 2001 - Gesellschaft für Aktuelle Kunst, Bremen
2000 - Neuer Aachener Kunstverein

Contact: Daniela Dietsche, Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Kunstvereine, dietsche@kunstvereine.de

Christine Hackmann

Your contacts:

Christine Hackmann
Communications Manager
Tel. +49 221 821-2288
Write an e-mail

Please send voucher copies to

Koelnmesse GmbH
- Media Services -
Postfach 210760
50532 Köln, Germany