ADKV-ART COLOGNE Award for Kunstvereine 2018

21 Kunstvereine nominated

Berlin/Cologne, February 20th, 2018. The Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Kunstvereine (ADKV) announces the nominations for this year's Award for Kunstvereine. Since 2006 this prize has been awarded in cooperation with ART COLOGNE to recognize Kunstvereine for their innovative exhibition praxis and outstanding work in art education.

The nominations are:
1. Kunstverein Grafschaft Bentheim
2. Schinkelpavillon, Berlin
3. Kunstverein Braunschweig
4. TMA Trans-Media-Akademie Hellerau, Dresden
5. riesa efau, Dresden
6. Freiburger Kunstverein
7. Kunstverein in Hamburg
8. Kasseler Kunstverein
9. Temporary Gallery, Köln
10. Künstlerhaus Lauenburg
11. D21 Kunstraum Leipzig
12. Overbeck Gesellschaft - Verein von Kunstfreunden, Lübeck
13. Oldenburger Kunstverein
14. Brandenburgischer Kunstverein, Potsdam
15. Kunstverein Reutlingen
16. Kunstverein zu Rostock
17. Neuer Saarbrücker Kunstverein
18. Kunstverein für Mecklenburg und Vorpommern, Schwerin
19. Württembergischer Kunstverein, Stuttgart
20. Künstlerhaus Stuttgart
21. Shedhalle Tübingen. Forum für zeitgenössische Kunst

The Brandenburgischer Kunstverein in Potsdam couldn't be considered for the prize because of the director's role as one of the ADKV board of directors. Representatives of the contemporary art scene chose the abovementioned Kunstvereine from the threehundred ADKV members for this year's "ADKV-ArtCologne Award for Kunstvereine". In order to insure that all ADKV Kunstvereine have an equal chance to be nominated there is a nominator from each respective state.

The criteria for selecting the nominations included, for instance, the promotion of experimental artistic approaches, the development of new presentation and educational forms, experimentation with new forms of communication about art, artistic education through tours, discussions, accompanying programming and publications, building interdisciplinary networks or regional cultural policy. From these nominations a jury will select a winner in March. The prize will be awarded on Saturday, April 21st, 2018 at 15:00 at Art Cologne.

The 8,000 Euro award has been provided by ART COLOGNE. With this award the oldest art fair in the world recognizes Kunstvereins' passionate advocacy for contemporary art.
The Kunstverein is a German institution that for over 200 years has been made possible through the commitment of citizens. The ADKV was founded in 1980 in order to bring together what is today about 300 Kunstvereine. In addition to networking, further qualification and opportunities for exchange and cooperation the ADKV offers practical experience from its 37 years as an umbrella organization.

Previous prize winners of the ADKV - ART COLOGNE Prize for Kunstvereine:
Hartware MedienKunstVerein, Dortmund (2017), Kunstverein Arnsberg und Kunstverein Harburger Bahnhof, Hamburg (2016); Kunstverein für die Rheinlande und Westfalen, Düsseldorf (2015); Bielefelder Kunstverein (2014); Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) (2013), Badischer Kunstverein, Karlsruhe (2012); Kunstverein Nürnberg - Albrecht Dürer Gesellschaft (2011); Kölnischer Kunstverein (2010); Heidelberger Kunstverein (2009); Salzburger Kunstverein und Westfälischer Kunstverein, Münster (2008); Kunstverein Wolfsburg (2007); ACC Galerie Weimar (2006).

The Art Frankfurt Prize for Kunstvereine (previous prize) was awarded to the following Kunstvereine:
2005 - Kölnischer Kunstverein; 2004 - Fri-Art Centre d'Art Contemporain, Fribourg (Schweiz); 2003 - Kunstverein Wilhelmshöhe, Ettlingen; 2002 - Frankfurter Kunstverein; 2001 - Gesellschaft für Aktuelle Kunst, Bremen 2000 - Neuer Aachener Kunstverein

Contact: Daniela Dietsche, Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Kunstvereine, dietsche@kunstvereine.de


ADKV-ART COLOGNE Award for Kunstvereine

Koelnmesse GmbH
File type: pdf
Size: 314 KByte